top of page
  • Writer's picturehouseofinspirations

IBUKU - Magical Spaces inspired by Nature


Have you ever wondered how it would be to live in spaces inspired by nature ? Then head over to Indonesia to experience Green Homes.When I saw an article about IBUKU in Architectural Digest,I was so inspired by their design, that I knew I had to share with you all.

Image Credit : Architectural Digest

IBUKU is an architecture and design firm based in Indonesia which uses bamboo to create elegant spaces inspired by nature. Elora Hardy, founder of IBUKU and her team of architects,engineers and interior designers have created more than 60 bamboo structures in Asia.

Bamboo used by IBUKU are treated by a natural salt so that they dont get infested by insects.As Bamboo is hollow and round,it doesnot lend itself to 90 degree angles and the firm has to think innovatively to design the structures.That innovation and challenge is what gives the magical and whimsical feel to the spaces.

Yoga Pavilion designed by IBUKU for Four Seasons,was a bespoke design conceived specifically for the location.The unique design provides a calm and serene feeling apt for a Yoga space.

One of the biggest benefits, of Bamboo is its sustainability. Bamboo can support heavy loads, plus it’s flexible and earthquake-resistant. For Elora, one of the most rewarding aspects of working with bamboo is helping people reconnect with nature.

The firm also designs bespoke furniture using bamboo and other natural materials.

I dont know about you but I think Elora's words to Vogue "So if I can let a building feel like a beautiful forest or a bedroom feel like a cocoon, then I feel like I’ve helped reconnect something vital.” sums up the whole feeling for me.

162 views
hof recent logo.jpg

House of Inspirations

see the world with loving eyes
bottom of page